North East England Tourism Awards
North East England Tourism Awards

North East England Tourism Awards

The awards play a  major role in showcasing the fantastic range of high quality experiences in the North East and are FREE for tourism businesses to enter. There are 15 categories  to enter and  an entry can be submitted for more than one application. This year, two new award categories have been launched to reflect the unprecedented difficulties caused by Covid-19 to tourism businesses, the Resilience and Innovation Award and the Unsung Hero Award that recognises individuals in the sector.

The awards have had a hugely positive impact on tourism in the North East, providing a benchmark for all businesses to aspire to and delivering significant benefits to shortlisted and winning businesses alike. By taking part it can raise the profile of businesses and help to improve business performance in terms of turnover, profitability, quality, sustainability, staff morale and customer satisfaction.

The full list of categories are:

  • Accessible and Inclusive Tourism Award
  • B&B and Guest House of the Year
  • Camping, Glamping and Holiday Park of the Year
  • Ethical, Responsible and Sustainable Tourism Award
  • Experience of the Year
  • Large Hotel of the Year
  • Small Hotel of the Year
  • New Tourism Business Award
  • Pub of the Year
  • Resilience and Innovation Award
  • Self-Catering Accommodation of the Year
  • Taste of North East England
  • Large Visitor Attraction of the Year
  • Small Visitor Attraction of the Year
  • Unsung Hero Award

The North East England Tourism Awards 2022 are being run in partnership with the VisitEngland Awards for Excellence. Eligible winners of the awards will automatically feed into the VisitEngland Awards for Excellence, ensuring the promotion of the best of the region on a national stage.


All entries must be submitted online by the deadline of 12pm on Thursday 23 September 2021. For more information visit